Thursday the 14th *should* be my first chemo, but we're still not certain that it will happen. I'm still showing a fair amount of infection in my left breast -- among other things, it's quite startlingly larger than the other -- despite being on my third different type of antibiotic this month. But I have made some progress. I've finally crossed all of the t's and dotted the i's to get into a clinical trial. More details after Tueday, which is my rescheduled Chemo 101 class.
Last Wednesday, I started my first 2 weeks of observation for my teaching degree. (And Mom sent me an adorable First Day of School card!) We'll have many more observation periods, leading up to our student teaching, next fall. This time, I'm at Aki Kurose Middle School, 6-7 miles down Rainier ave from here. It's not a rich school by any means, but the teachers are obviously working hard, and the students are largely very cool. They wear uniforms, but very simple ones -- any style of black or dark blue pants (except jeans, of course), and any type of plain white shirts with collars (i.e., no t-shirts) -- and it seems to work.
In non-boring-health-related news: the uber project of the summer, the house painting is finished! By the end of it, we'd begged virtually every friend we have to come and help, rented scaffolding, and practically turned into monkeys getting all of the high parts done. It's a relief to be finished, but even without it, we're still busy: I'm still working as many hours as I can at Microsoft (did I mention that tuition is $3000 a quarter?); catching a bus to Aki each morning at 6am, and going by the hospital 2 or 3 times a week to get my breast drained (yes, just as much fun as it sounds). As soon as we finish the AIDS walk today, I'm really looking forward to a quiet weekend.
Re the AIDS walk -- it's not
too late to donate, and as far as I know, they'll take donations as small as $5: just
click here to give.
Actual classes at the U of W start Sept. 26th. If nothing else, it will be a much shorter commute.
And ack -- I just realized I've forgotten Viv's birthday. Hmm, I should send her a note!